Generate node overlap with python?

Hi,

I'm not very good with robofab, but I wanted to select a node and create another node on top.
Just in case I'm using fontlab 5 and have all the basic python plugins installed.

Thank you for your help!

Comments

• (Actually, It would be duplicate nodes putting it in simple words).
  • Hi @Fernando Díaz,
    not completely sure why you would want to do this ;) but anyway maybe this helps -
    quick and dirty made out of an older RoboFab script for FL - It worked when I used the square selection (not directly selecting a node) see image - the other image for indentation - still not sure if this is what you need - good luck!!

from robofab.world import CurrentGlyph, CurrentFont

g = CurrentGlyph()
    sel = []

for contour in g.contours:
    for Point in contour.points:
    if Point.selected:
    sel.append(Point)

if len(sel) != 0:
    xL = []
    yL = []
    #store up all coordinates for use later
    for Point in sel:
    x, y = Point.x, Point.y
    xL.append(x)
    yL.append(y)

print sel, xL[0], yL[0]
    p = g.getPen()
    p.moveTo((xL[0], yL[0]))
    p.lineTo((xL[0], yL[0]))
    p.closePath()
    CurrentFont().update() 

• Hey @Lukas Schneider thank you!

But what I need is the node to be part of the contour, right now I get a separate node on the same place, it's close though. 

I know it's very weird haha :)
  • Dyana WeissmanDyana Weissman Posts: 327
    edited January 2016
    Under Tools/Customize... you can enter your own key command for Duplicate Node. Alternatively, control-click on the node you want and Duplicate Node comes up in the pop-up menu. Still part of the contour. No need for a script. …Unless I am misunderstanding the context.
  • Hey Dyana,

On my version of fontlab 5.0.4, there is no Duplicate Node in the customize menu. And you can do only 1 at a time. 

Which version are you using?
  • Nina StössingerNina Stössinger Posts: 151
    edited January 2016