Options

easily animated font for motion graphics

Hi, I am a graphic designer and motion designer from Cleveland, Ohio. I have designed other fonts in the past for various client specific uses but never at the scale of what I have been working on with this typeface. I am very curious to get feedback. Upfront you need to know this is not a traditional design. This entire family was designed around the idea of being easily animated for motion graphics and so when making decisions about design or functionality they came down to how well it would perform when animated primarily in After Effects. Things like geometry and straight lines were important for stacking, repetition, grids and alignments of characters on screen. straight strokes can extend infinitely into space more easily than curved or gently arced letterforms. Perfect circles are used predominantly for rotating characters in animation without wobble. The font is designed for very large on screen display sizes only. it was designed around an original 16x9 lowercase letter /o. A grid was built from there for cap height and ascenders and descenders. the width was divided into thirds for cinematography purposes. you can see the result in the weight variation between the standard and heavy variants. the vertical strokes are 1/3rd of the width of the entire character - the rule of thirds.

The /j /r and /t have special variants that extend above and below the baseline to create unique letter and word opportunities. These can be seen on the pages with the lowercase letters. words have been set showing how these letters perform with standard letter and alternate variant. there are ligatures, etc.

Readability is a lesser concern to visual impact of form and counter form. As a display only font for motion graphics this will be used to set word/phrase length at most on screen. A sentence would be objectionably long setting in this font.