Options

Is selling on MyFonts a good idea?

Hello,

I am finishing up a font, and I have no experience in selling fonts. MyFonts seems to be the obvious choice; however, many on TypeDrawers seem wary of MyFonts. Should I use MyFonts to sell my fonts, or should I use some other platform. Also, if I were to sell on MyFonts, could I put my fonts on Adobe Fonts or another reseller platform?

Comments

• Options
    Igor PetrovicIgor Petrovic Posts: 263
    edited November 2023
    -
  • Options

I've been doing some research on the latest (freshest) platforms for selling fonts, and I've discovered that there are many more options available than what's commonly discussed. Each platform offers unique advantages and caters to different audiences. In light of this, I highly recommend considering a variety of platforms, especially since MyFonts has become quite saturated and their terms appear to be shifting towards more conservative policies.

Here are some notable platforms to explore:

It's 2023, and the notion that MyFonts is the only viable option for font distribution is definitely outdated. Today, you also have the flexibility to distribute your fonts independently using platforms like Gumroad for the download delivery. 

It's much easier now than it was a decade ago to get your fonts into the market, and there's no need to be locked down by some of the new restrictive terms coming out. 

I hope this information helps you in exploring new avenues for your font distribution.

• Options
    k.l.k.l. Posts: 107
    FontSpring, CreativeMarket, Dribbble ... one company.
  • Options

Here are some notable platforms to explore:

It looks like you haven't done much research... Since there are questions about some of the platforms you mentioned. In particular, about the abundance of leaked materials from there. Compared to them, Myfonts is a super-secure resource.