Options

"Modern" a typeface inspired by Bembo, Garamond, Centaur, GFS Didot and Bodoni

Hey people from all over the world, that's my first time ever designing a typeface ever, litterally. 

A little bit bit of me:

I'm kinda young, only 20 years old, from Brazil and started to study design around 2.5 years ago. Even before i always had a feeling that some things look nicer than other and something that always carried my atttention was the letters, at this time everything that i knew was that those "things" were called fonts and that's it. 

Again something around two years ago i started to study design and discovered something called typography and was imediate identification, a true art, since i fell in love with modern design (so yes i'm a univers guy).

Now my typeface:

Around one year ago i started drawing on paper a modern serif typeface because for me they have an inherent beaty to it, true art... I tried, again, again, again got frustrated and just give it up. 

But three months ago i opened fontforge and started to drawn one of the letters that i had most difficulties with "B". And i for me was an revealing experience... a WOOOOWWWW.

I know, looking to it now it doesn't fell great, it's bad, really bad... 

Many revisions after i've decided to combine everything Bembo, Garamond and Bodoni (on the middle i found GFS Didot and Centaur to use as a visual reference), but now, it looks a little bit off. One of my intentions was to make a modern looking typeface with garold characteristics and the challenge was that it should be smaller than garamond but still readable.

So please any tips, recomendations and critics. 

notes: the name of the typeface will be changed in the future due to monotype ownage of the name, and any critics will be welcome but please consider the fact that that's my first time designing a typeface ever.

Comments

• Options
    edited June 2023