Books/methods for learning calligraphy

I'm wondering if anyone has a recommendation for a book on traditional calligraphy technique that could be used for self-directed study and practice. I'm a type designer, primarily, so I'm not looking to absolutely master calligraphy per se, but rather develop a working understanding of its basics, the movements of the pen and hand, etc. 

I'm not interested in the trendy hand lettering styles that seem to dominate popular calligraphy how-to books. I'd be much more interested in learning to draw blackletter and Old Style roman letterforms (especially roman capitals).

I'm confident that if I were to practice calligraphy for a few months, it would have a positive impact on my digital drawing skills, use of stroke modulation, stress, etc.

Thanks!

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    Get the Speedball Textbook.
  • Though it is not widely known nor up-to-date, I can recommend Schrift und Schreiben by Hildegard Korger. It focusses on a few principal writing styles (Capitalis, Minuscule, Italic, Blackletter – and variations thereof) in a very profound manner and concentrates on essentials of formal writing. Helped me a lot when I was a student.
  • This was my first post as a new member of Type Drawers, and I have to say, this is so exciting to be getting such in-depth advice. I will look into all these options!
  • just two additional hints:
    • Always look also at specimen from the actual period. Go to museums, historic libraries or lapidaria where you can see originals unfiltered.
    • Study the main styles in their chronological order, start with the Roman capitals. So you will experience the morphogenesis of letterforms in the succession it happened.