Type Design Technical Advances

Mark SimonsonMark Simonson Posts: 1,652
edited March 2022 in Font Technology
I've been making fonts on the Mac since 1987 (with Fontographer) and I was thinking about the technical advances that have been made the most difference for me:

• PostScript and Fontographer. Practically goes without saying.
  • Larger screens. The 512 x 342 pixel 9" Macintosh display was a real problem. It was like designing through a keyhole.
  • Affordable PostScript laser printers. Early PostScript laser printers were beyond my budget. Until I had one, I relied on others who did, such as Kinko's or service bureaus, which was a big bottleneck in the design process.
  • Flat screens. Large CRTs were better than small ones, but they often had inconsistent geometry, and the curvature could be misleading. With flat screens, all these problems vanished.
  • Anti-aliasing in font editors. Short of higher resolution displays, this made it easier to judge the shapes of curves.
  • "Retina" displays. This has significantly reduced the need for making printouts and brought true WYSIWYG to font editors.

The speed of processors has also been a factor, but that's been more of a gradual thing.

I'd be curious to hear what advances have been significant for other type designers, including those on Windows and other platforms. Also, I might be forgetting things. Finally, what future advances might be on the horizon or do you wish for? 

Comments

• Surely "smart font" technology (OpenType and predecessors like QuickDraw GX) deserves some mention. Also, the advent of Unicode.
  • I made significant skill improvement thanks to the invention of fine gel pens. Yes it was all possible with a pencil or a ball pen, but a fine gel pen made it so much easier to draw small details.

I remember an old recording of a type designer drawing with a fountain pen and I could not believe it how precisely he made the drawings. That is just another lever of skill!