Hello Everyone! New in Typeface Creation. An "introductory question"

Hi everyone.

My name is Michalis Gerontaris and I am from Greece but currently living in Brazil.
Before anything else, please excuse me for not putting my full name as a username -I saw the topic after I had created my account.

I am a freelance graphic designer and I started editing typefaces and fonts where they didn't support the greek alphabet and some of the portuguese glyphs and, without noticing, I realised I kinda loved this whole process! Now I am a typefan and I am slowly starting creating my own fonts.

However there's a lot of struggle for me as regards how legal modifying, editing and ultimately commercially using fonts is. And this is where I will need lots of help and guidance from all of you professional (or hobbyist) type designers!
As I start seeing how challenging and difficult creating a font can be and all the more I cultivate respect for all of this hard work, in no way would I like to steal another designer's "sweat and work".

So, as a first helping hand, could someone guide me regarding this question;
What is legal and what is not when it comes to modifying a font?
I mean there are some fonts where I don't like fome of the glyphs and characters and some others where (as I mentioned before) they do not support greek characters and/or portuguese glyphs, so I modify them. To what extend can such a font be modified and claimed from that moment my own?

(To moderators), if this question has been answered, please feel free to move this topic to the relevant thread, because I couldn't find one :)

Thanks so much in advance! Love to be here!

Comments

• Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    edited July 2020