Variable Fonts and Graphic Design

Hi! 

I'm currently studying about variable fonts and their application to the graphic designer work.

I'm not a programmer, but I would like to know if there is a possibility for developing an algorithm that controls the tone of the text.

I'm thinking about a control in a user interface that allows him to choose to have more or less tonal difference between the variable font used and the axes of width, weight, and so on, fit their choice. 

Thank you,
Ana Fernandes
Tagged:

Comments

• Are you saying you want the tone as it changes to correlate to one of the axes? For example, width? Do you mean tone as in feeling (anger, sarcasm) or tone as in a specific note or pitch?

I think it's possible. If a typeface can be controlled by the weather or by light, I'd imagine it could be controlled by anything. 
  • Promphan Suksumek did a project titled Emotional Type which follows a similar premise that you might take an interest in. You can find it here:
    http://www.emotionaltype.org/
  • Nick ShinnNick Shinn Posts: 2,131
    Hi Ana, I would draw your attention to Carl Crossgrove’s brilliant Reliq, which contains an “agitation” axis.

It was one of a number of “variable” designs developed for Multiple Master technology, before Adobe killed support for that format in its layout applications.
    On the other hand, if one is to keep other variable parameters constant, while varying “greyscale density” at consistent typeface weight, character count, etc., then that would be a “grading” axis.

Grading is a concept invented at Font Bureau, I believe, to account for different amounts of press gain in a newspaper that is printed at a variety of printing plants.

Typotheque has also published graded types, and being a cutting edge foundry, perhaps they have variable fonts with a grading axis, already available or in the works.