How to begin a commissioned font project?

I am very new to the idea of landing typeface design gigs for clients...When you get approached to create a commissioned typeface, what are some general questions I should be asking to help understand the end goal? Obviously, character set seems to be first and foremost but are there other things to be aware of? How does pricing differ among these specific things as well? 

Appreciate any guidance you all can give me!

Comments

• SiDanielsSiDaniels Posts: 277
    I'd imagine they'd come with a design brief and rough idea of character set, weights, and styles. Beyond that the next most important thing would be the rights they need - are they buying the design outright or would it be some kind of license? Then I'd ask to see the contract details and review what kind of guarantees, warranties, and indemnification they require.
  • @SiDaniels
    Appreciate the response! Agreed, the licensing is key – thanks for the guidance!
  • @John Hudson
    Thank you very very much for the detailed response, I truly appreciate it! That's exactly the kind of answer I was looking for and it's extremely helpful for someone like myself getting started. 

As for the glyph "spreadsheet" do you provide a visual spreadsheet since some clients may have no clue what certain glyphs are by just reading the name? Hope that makes sense.

Thanks again for the help!
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    As for the glyph "spreadsheet" do you provide a visual spreadsheet since some clients may have no clue what certain glyphs are by just reading the name?