Rejected by Myfonts

Henrique IbaldoHenrique Ibaldo Posts: 12
edited November 2015 in Type Design Critiques
Hello TypeDrawers,
after a few years studying calligraphy and lettering design, I decided to create my first digital font for commercial distribution. However, as a self-taught with no mentors, my first attempt to sell on MyFonts was rejected. They encouraged me to continue studying, but weren't much specific about why my font was rejected. They only said they didn't see enough of "design quality, originality and/or completeness". I'm still proud of my work and will try to sell it in other platforms, and I'm grateful for them taking the time to review my work, but as a self initiated beginner, I could really make good use of some more specific critics about the typeface design itself, in order to improve. Saying that, I would like to invite you to have a look at Querencia, my first digital font, and give me any critic you think pertinent. Every word from you guys will be much appreciated and mean a lot to me, considering that everyone here has a valuable time. Proof sample attached.

Comments

• Hi Henrique, I have just looked at Querencia. The basics for a font are certainly there, you just have to smoothen-up the curves a little bit. The capital K seems too wide. So it is just down to the artwork; drawing smooth curves. You will get better at it the more you practice. Keep at it!
  • This seems more like a cacophony of old font trends with no driving concept. You pulled lots of ideas together, but there’s no concept that defines the font. It’s just a love letter to other fonts you like—Mrs. Eaves, Gotham, Bodoni, Bleeding Cowboy, Domaine Text. That’s not something a graphic designer can use to express something. 

If I were you I would just move on. Treat Querencia as a student project that you designed for the sake of learning. Start designing simple stuff with simple ideas before you move on to bigger projects.