Looking for advice on improving my eye

[Disclaimer 1: My first post here. Please correct me if I'm posting in the wrong place.]
[Disclaimer 2: I know this is something that naturally happens over time. I’m hoping for pointers to help on the journey]
---
My goal with this is to create a Grotesk font that takes inspiration from 19th Century display type. I want to avoid the kind of smoothed-over perfection found in 20th century neo-grotesks. But while I gravitate towards the imperfections and irregularity that give a font character and make it feel hand-tooled, I still want it to feel harmonious and functional in today’s world.

My challenge is in how to make a font with highly contrasting stem widths into something with consistent tone and rhythm. Nothing should seem too large or small, nothing too heavy or light. If I had a better trained eye, I could probably spot where it’s out of balance, but I’m relatively new to this.

I’m not asking for a complete course on this - but I’m wondering if anyone has any practical approaches to how you look at a font and how to hone your eye. How does your eye move, and what are you looking for? Is there a guiding philosophy?

As an example: studying fine art I had a teacher share a technique for quickly flipping your gaze back and forth from the subject to your canvas -- over and over. Once I learned how to look at it this way, I’d see what was different or not correctly proportioned. Eye training.

Anyway, when I print these out, they’re just not working. Here are a few letters to show the challenge:

And here it is with measuring balls to show the extent of the contrast:

Many thanks!

Comments

• It's hard to say what is 'just not working' when imperfections are your goal. I actually think this could be a decent starting point for something quirky, but it's hard to pinpoint the direction without more glyphs. Looking at the glyphs you've shown, you could categorise your strokes broadly into 3 categories: