First font - Fresh eyes needed

LeonAASmithLeonAASmith Posts: 5
edited October 1 in Type Design Critiques
Hello,
Firstly thanks for the advices that I've read on other threads last years, I learned a lot through it.
I am a young graphic designer with a strong interest in typography, I am always fascinated by the connotation, the tone of a type face rather than what's actually written. I had some basic calligraphy (small flat brush).
For two years now, I am working on a typeface as an exercise, I had nice and interesting feedback from coworkers, teachers and friends, but I changed shapes a lot as I could not find an pleasant style for me.

My own starting brief was to have a rational typeface, straight axis, but with some organic features, I liked some Century old style, Baskerville etc. But more in Times maybe Plantin proportion. For the contemporary designers I like Academica by Storm (Is it too obvious ?), Lido. But also Helvetius by Cortat.

Now I believe the feeling is good, I chose to have slightly slanted axis (but bdpq seems a bit weird), but not for the "o" (the shape always seems wrong). There is not so much contrast but I don't think it is a 6pt font...
A lot of letters are missing and it looks a very little work but before digging more I would like news eyes on it, as I cannot have any new feedback (construction, proportion, contrast, hints, anything), even laser print for proofing is miles away... Thanks a lot ! ("B" "D" "P" are very new sorry, I like big tittles, and tears drops are always the same everywhere)

PDF for more

Comments

• Don’t apologize too much, for a novice’s work it’s pretty good. The overall idea and tone seems fine to me, that could become a text workhorse some day.

I like your melancholic a and your idea for the k.

Top half of thin stroke (A) and bottom half of thin stroke (V) are too thick. Also serif of L. This may be less thick but more lengthy. M is a little too dark. The bowl of the P wants to get more space.