How is the Walt Disney Logo drawn or constructed?

I'd like to design my own Walt Disney logo font, I have seen what currently exists but I don't really like these, for example:

I'm hoping to stay accurate to the logo with the drawing instruments; would anyone kindly be able to offer some insight into the method of drawing this logo may have used, i.e. kind of pen or brush?

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I experimented with this idea few years ago. Seems like a watercolor brush. Be careful when choosing a name for it.
  • Thanks Ray, did you ever publish your results anywhere? Also would it be a brush with a wide flat, slanted or pointy tip? It doesn't look consistent to me – though I've had little experience with water-colour brushes.
  • Chris LozosChris Lozos Posts: 1,458
    My guess would be that the original signature was written with a fountain pen, normal for that era, then it was copied with a Lucie [projector] and enlarged and traced by hand. Originally copied, probably using animation ink, which writes on clear film. This was the way animation worked years ago. You drew pencil sketches, then traced each cell by hand on clear film in black. It was later filled in color, registered and single-frame shot on motion picture film. Over the years, one of these was scanned into the digital era and probably redrawn in a vector art program like AI.
    Disney was an animation guy, he could draw. I don't know what you are looking for but why don't you just draw it as you see it in whatever tools you are comfortable with? After that, you can redraw it in a font software of your choice. I assume drawing letters is what you want to do? There is no big secret other than learning to draw.
    Are you just doing this for yourself? I don't see a big market for it so I just wondered what your intent was?