Font naming issues - family not nesting in Illustrator

Hey guys,

looking for some advice on this one. I've been using Karsten Lucke's font naming scheme (see http://kltf.de/downloads/FontNaming-kltf.pdf). I'm still getting into trouble though. At the moment I'm not sure if this is because I'm doing something wrong in the naming scheme, or whether there is some kind of issue with my font cache?

See attachment: in Font Suite the (small) family behaves just fine, Regular and Regular Italic are nested under the family name. But when I use the font in Illustrator, two names are being composed that I have to call up separately (so Regular and Regular Italic are not nested under one family).

Any suggestions?

Comments

• Font info screens for both files as a reference. I really hope someone can point out the (obvious??) fail here, would help a lot. I've been staring at this too long...

• Did you intend to have "Menu Name" filled out for one and not the other?
  • Hey Craig, thanks for your reply. Nope, that wasn't my intention. Doesn't explain what's going on though. Maybe I need a system reboot or something...
  • Jan Willem WennekesJan Willem Wennekes Posts: 148
    edited November 2013
    Not completely true by the way. Removing that "Menu Name" option and re-installing the new .otf files now shows the exact same result in Font Suite, but in Illustrator the italic version is gone at first view. Rebooted the system: same thing again. The menu still shows "Black Diamond Italic" as the font name and "Regular Italic" as the font style... oddness...
  • Try only "Italic" as the style name.
  • Thanks for your comment Georg. I must be misinterpreting the scheme - I thought I had "Italic" as the style name...both "Style Name" and "OT Style Name" have just that filled in - should it be somewhere else too?
  • Can you post screen shots of your 'Additional OpenType names' info as well?
  • Yes, here they are (why can't that window be any bigger?)