Type 3.2 Fonteditor, any views?

Hi,

I would like to have your opinion on the Fonteditor Type 3.2 by Cr8. I stumbled upon it recently and tried the demo. I am quite impressed by the functionality of the program if you look at the low price, which is cheaper than both TypeTool and Glyphs Mini. I could not find a lot of information on it though, and would be interested to know if anyone tested it or uses it, and what the pros and cons are.

I should add that I am not a professional type designer, but a type user who occasionaly makes typefaces, mostly handdrawn display stuff. I have the indesign plugin IndyScript, which works great for me. But I would be interesting in adding some more functionality and kerning to the fonts. This is where Type 3.2 might come in... But I must add that I had some strange bug when I worked on my font in the demo version: when I saved as OTF and opened this file with Fontexplorer X Pro the font display is completely strange, not showing the characters. I know the demo version only exports the first 50 glyphs, yet these should still be visible then. I don't know if this is a bug in the demo only. The original IndyScript generated font works well fyi.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    Is this the program that was Windows only until 2012? I think that was why I never tried it.
  • Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I've looked into Type now and again. People often ask me what software I'd recommend and Type is one I suggest. It doesn't throw a lot of curve balls at beginners. OpenType features are plain text files that can be edited and loaded. The font naming system looks intuitive. The composite glyph wizard's automatic accent placement works nicely and might encourage free font creators to support a few more languages.