Printer recommendations for proofing?

What printer would you recommend for proofing purposes, today? $500 or under would be nice since I'm an independent designer.

Ideally, the minimum requirements would be:
- true 1200 dpi,
- Adobe PostScript 3
- laser printer technology

Are there other minimum requirements I should be considering?

In the U.S., the low-end cost for 1200 dpi plus Adobe PostScript 3 seems to be above $1,000. To get something around the $500 mark and below usually means going with the vendor's PostScript 3 emulation. In the past, I wanted to stay away from most emulations. If I lived in Australia, I'd probably try out the Fuji Xerox DocuPrint P355d (which hits the under $500 mark with Adobe PostScript 3 and 1200 dpi).
http://www.fujixerox.com.au/products/printers/monochrome-printers/docuprint-p355d/dpp355

Are there printers with PostScript 3 emulation and 1200 dpi that work well enough? 2400 dpi, though nice to have, seems to make the price increase a lot.

Thanks!
[Posting in Software since there wasn't a Hardware category.]

Comments

• I recommend getting samples printed so you can make an informed decision. Printershowcase.com has a Test Drive service where you can get printed samples from your file on up to three different printers for about $20. I used their service before I bought my Ricoh Aficio because I wanted a printer that would show detail accurately, and the test prints provided the answers I needed.

One of the surprising things I learned from the test prints was just how crappy a certain famous brand is (or maybe was); it saved me a lot of money because I would have thought theirs was the best.

On their home page, click on Test Drive and read more about it.
  • James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    edited April 2013