Commission for a logo based on a Cormorant glyph

So somebody contacted me about using a glyph from Cormorant (the rapier-shaped alternate /daggerdbl/) for an album cover, which is certainly no problem, and about possibly commissioning an adaptation of said glyph to the client's ideas.
@Dave Crossland, do I understand correctly that I am allowed to take money for working on a part of Cormorant if I then release that new part under the OFL as well? Basically I'd just let the new glyph exist in the Cormorant fonts.
If so: What's a reasonable amount of money to ask for something like this? I figure it's going to be about 2–3 hours of work on my side, and I'm not a trained professional. Maybe $50? I'd like to stay on the affordable side, too, since it's a fun project. :grimace:

Comments

• Fun quickie project? I'd say $100 to $500, depending on pocket depth.

Fond memories of this BTW:
    https://www.flickr.com/photos/48413419@N00/5224762001/in/dateposted-public/
    No amount of money can buy that experience... and conversation piece!
  • John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    If the modified glyph is just for use on the album cover, does it need to be a font edit, or could you just convert to outlines and create the modified shape in e.g. Illustrator? Is there a practical need or usability advantage in having a custom version of the font incorporating this modification?
  • Christian ThalmannChristian Thalmann Posts: 1,938
    edited March 2019
    John: Well I don't have Illustrator and work best in Glyphs. :grimace:
    I'm also not allowed to sell derivatives of my Google Fonts, but I believe I can be funded to expand them. ;)
  • Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,732
    Even if you use Glyphs, you could still do it like John suggests. Does Glyphs not have any export-as-graphic function? Or even if it doesn't, you make a font, then use that to create a document and export a PDF (or whatever graphic format) from that.