Robofont or Glyphs for Type design

Hello Everyone, 
I am new to using a fully functional font editor and was wondering which one would be the best bet to start with. Robofont or Glyphs?

Comments

• Marc OxborrowMarc Oxborrow Posts: 220
    edited March 2019
    [Is there really no way to delete comments, even within the 4-hour editing window?]
  • I have built commercial fonts (only Arabic) with both apps and here is my take. I hope I won't receive a lot of heat for saying the cons! Please consider that I'm a designer and have a bias. I prefer to make tools for myslef rather that succomb to a certain method of work that is dictated by the software.

Glyphs:
    Pros: It's very snappy and fast. It has many tools that could automate some tasks like adjusting metrics of composites, generating OT features. It's easier to pick up and build fonts. Most of the process of building fonts is handled inside the app.

Cons: The UI is cluttered with tools you won't probably ever use and can't remove. The automatic mechanism could go wrong and could create a bias in your design. It's not transparent and keeps you away from technical details.

Robofont:
    Pros: It's like an empty canvas you can extend by adding open source exentsions and cater to your needs. It's more explicit and direct when it comes to access all the parameters and technical aspects of the font. If something goes wrong you have better control over fixing it. It's more trasnparent.

Cons: It's relativly slower. Building extensions and catering them to your needs might take time (although there is already a lot out there that would fit your needs). If you want to build large families you might have to purcahse other softwares for some other tasks like kerning and interpolating.