First full sans family - A little criticism please

Hello All! 
Long time listener, first-time caller (Sorry, I couldn't resist).

A little about myself, I am a designer/art director with nearly 20 years of experience. Throughout my career, I've always loved drawing letters, typically for one-off logotypes, but I've never actually tried to finish a full typeface.

My interest in drawing letterforms has taken me to various workshops (Crafting Type) and intensives (Reading) to hone my craft WITH the added benefit of focused criticism, which brings me to post where I'm currently at with my first full family.

I know that there are so many excellent sans-serif families. This process is less about making a product for the market and more about finishing a full typeface. My idea was to create a sans-serif family that is contemporary, economical (in space) and readable.

I'm still working on some general spacing issues and some additional drawing tweaks through the spacing process.

I'd love any criticism(s) that you have to offer. An A4 PDF is attached.

Many Thanks in Advance!

Comments

• K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    It's good! I especially like the form of @ you've chosen. The center of S, while well-formed, is slightly heavy (in all weights). I can't find any other faults.
  • Vasil StanevVasil Stanev Posts: 759
    edited February 2019
       Overall pretty pleasing to the eye. Some nitpicks, however:

The B is too wide compared to adjacent letters, especially the C.
       S,s, and to a lesser extent a, e look unbalanced (some think otherwise: http://typedrawers.com/discussion/2619/upper-store-of-the-lc-a#latest ), and the first two also look wider than they should be. The feet of b and d are not well enough pronounced and will get lost at smaller sizes. Same goes for the spur of m, n, p, q...     b, d, l terminate at an angle, the others do not. The top of the z seems too wide. The y is slightly wider than it should be, compared to x.