[Q] [Beginner] About measures

Greetings, everyone.

As I'm relatively new in the typography world, i'm in need of help to understand some basic concepts about measures and, i guess, the methods some softwares use to display typefaces.

The tools i'm using are Inkscape and Fontforge.

To the problem.

I'm able to draw the characters in Inkscape and importing them successfully inside Fontforge to create fonts, that perfectly install, however, they are displayed "blurred" inside the softwares i tested them in. The problem arise because i'm trying to build what is commonly reffered to as a bitmap or pixel font, and, because i tested other fonts of the same style, i know they don't usually come with this behaviour. Is this related to the measures of the characters or to anti-alias?

I attached a project with four characters ( 8, A, g, i) 
http://s000.tinyupload.com/?file_id=53685718602435244159

Would anyone be gentle enough to provide an explanation?

Comments

• Adam JagoszAdam Jagosz Posts: 689
    edited January 2019
    The font you created is an outline font. If you want to create a bitmap font, follow this tutorial https://fontforge.github.io/editexample8.html (or try).

• K PeaseK Pease Posts: 182
    There's a whole process that has to do with the number of units in the em; I haven't bothered to remember it because there are free web tools to make pixel fonts.
    If there's something this can't do for you, like say you want to have kerning pairs, you can always import the result into Fontforge to make changes.
  • Thank you Adam. Thank you K.

The reason I mention Inkscape and Fontforge is because I would like to use both: one to make, the other to build. I'm not only interested in the result but also in the process. ( I did use Fontstruct in the past for example )