Ornamental Initials

2»

Comments

• Vasil StanevVasil Stanev Posts: 759
    edited August 2018
    I really like this last kanji character, although I can't attest to how well it reads. I think it is graphically more interesting that any of the forms from the other scripts, and has a really nice feel of collage.

This makes me realise that while I really like the ornament shapes and how they fit within the letters, in the other scripts I think the actual letterforms themselves are not very interesting, and also old fashioned looking. Maybe try a heavier letterform? Perhaps something like a black weight sans serif, so the shape of the letters contrasts with the ornamentation?

Yes, this means starting over, but I think you'd have something much stronger and more useful in contemporary design.

?But they are heavy sans (Hai)?

I have no deep knowledge of Hebrew and Armenian, just googled the most common images of the alphabets and the "most used" fonts of both kinds.
    edited August 2018
    These are my models. By the way, the heaviest hanzi character above  breaks the norm the most, because without the extra contour lines it becomes unreadable. So your judgment could be a bit distorted: what worked for letters broke down when I got to the complex hanzi.

• Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    I think he meant a heavy sans model for the Latin. 
  • It is pretty heavy as it is ;)
  • Hebrew letters typically have their horizontal parts stressed, rather than the vertical ones, like Cyr., Lat. and Greek. I think you should give that a try.

• The water radical (⺡) works perfectly. I find the rest of it a bit of a mess. I would never have picked it out as 滾.