How do you test your locl features?

I feel like a total noob asking this (because I am), but after googling in vain I thought this would be the best place to ask.

I’m making my first font. It’s perhaps a bit beyond my reach, but that’s how we learn, right? I’m trying to include some standard locl language features for Catalan, Dutch, German, Romanian, and Turkish (and languages which share the same features). It seems pretty straightforward, and there are lots of good tutorials out there (Tal Leming’s OpenType Cookbook, the Glyphs tutorials, etc.). However, nowhere does it mention how to test any of these features.

I’ve tried opening Pages (mac os 10.14 Mojave) and changing the language and region, as well as changing my keyboard to the specified language. I’ve also tried changing the dictionary in Adobe InDesign CC 2019 to test there. I’m guessing this is all that’s needed. However, my features don’t seem to work (or work the way I expect). I don’t know if this is because my approach to testing is incorrect, or because my features are written incorrectly.

What do you all do to test out locl OpenType features?
(If I know I’m testing correctly, then I can know if my features simply don’t work.)

Thanks!

Comments

• In InDesign either of those two is what you want to change to the language you are testing, then type the glyphs or combinations you are expecting to be substituted and see if they do.

In web pages setting the
    lang="en-GB"
    attribute of any (parent) tag containing the test string will activate the locl with CSS
    font-feature-settings: "locl";

Maybe also your font editor has options to test, GlyphApps for example does.

• It should definitely work in InDesign. If not, there’s probably some error in your feature code.
  • Johannes, thank you so much! (And, hooray! my locl features work!) I feel really embarrassed that I didn’t see that before (or bother to google it). Oh, tunnel vision.