Licensing and stealing

Hello,
the question is probably very basic and stupid, but I couldn’t find the answer.

How the font licensing works in the real life? When someone buys a font for 5 users, what stops him to use it for 5000 users? Or when someone just downloads a font for free, how can he get caught? As a beginner type designer, I don’t have a big experience with commercial fonts, and as I understand the license file included with the fonts is supposed to protect the foundrie, but it seems to be easily fakeable, shareable and just weak as an evidence for the law, or isn’t it? To my naive brain individual code / number for every sale is the only way to prove anything, but it seems to be imposible to do.

I probably misunderstand the system, could you please clarify how it all works?
Tagged:

Comments

• There are some experts on font licensing here on the forum, but I don't think you're that far off. Essentially, it comes down to trust. You simply have to assume that customers don't abuse the system, or accept that some illegal use is inevitable, and focus on the trustworthy clients.
  • AbrahamLeeAbrahamLee Posts: 262
    In addition to what was said above, trust is huge. As a type designer, do all you can to create a positive relationship with customers and clients. The more you show trust and respect for them, they will reciprocate that back. There will always be folks who just don’t care and will steal or otherwise violate the license agreement. Be kind as much as possible to earn their trust back. You just do what you can. Most people are honorable and it’s not fair to treat everyone like they are out to take advantage of you.

Thats my perspective.
  • JoyceKettererJoyceKetterer Posts: 792
    edited June 2018