Usefulness of plugins & extensions & other tools.

I'm curious to hear your thoughts on which tools/plugins/extensions you find are really helpful to your workflow. I realize this is workflow-specific, so if you would share a little about your workflow and how the particular "extra" enhances what you do and/or makes you more efficient. I'm not asking about the font editor itself (FontCreator, FontForge, Fontlab, Robofont, Glyphs, whatever), although I realize that each offers its own benefits. I'm thinking, for example, more along the lines of the extensions for Robofont & Glyphs, external tools like Superpolator, TTX, etc. Have you used things that appeared to be useful, but really ended up not being that useful?

Why am I asking? I guess because I'd like to learn from some of the best in the industry. I am a programmer and engineer and have found that scripting has saved me sooooooo much time and am wondering about the usefulness you all have found in these kinds of supplementary tools. I'm not fishing for prospective buyers. I'm more or less wondering if I'm wasting my time because, while it's exciting to have a tool that automates some things, I really shouldn't need to do that if I had enough experience under my belt. Hopefully that makes sense.

If you feel that sharing your thoughts would be divulging your competitive advantage and therefore don't share, I completely respect that. I learn so much from all of you every day and am so grateful. I check/follow things on this site far more than any other out there.

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    RMX Tools is rock solid. I can't work without it.