Ridiculous Sans

I’m relatively new to type design, and this is my first try of making something experimental (and silly) like this. Although this is a rough sketch, I feel like I already need a good piece of advice.
The whole thing doesn’t feel balanced to me, probably because some letters have thin strokes and others don’t; some letters are just thinner than others (a, s, z). Any advices, please?

Tagged:

Comments

• First of all I like what I see. I like the thin strokes on some letters /a,b,d,n,m,p,h,g,r). However do you think you could do something similar on the other lettres as /t,y,f,c,k,j,x/? The end of the /g/ seems too long to me. The horizontal bar of the /t/ could be shorter. Keep going.
  • Ori Ben-DorOri Ben-Dor Posts: 383
    I like it, I think it has potential!

If I were to change one thing, I'd change /z. It interrupts the flowing rhythm of the rest. It's too boxy and rigid, with too many right or close to right angles.

The way you've trimmed the outer cusps of /v and /w so close to the tip of the inner ones does reference other thin elements, so I get why you've done that, but I would reconsider it. It makes the strokes look almost detached from each other, and also dictates too wide /w, in my opinion.

I'm not sure about the inward facing curved elements in /t (bothers me more) and /y (less), they seem a little out of place.

The bent part of /j is probably too dark.

The top half of /f looks too crowded, try making the cross stroke thinner. Perhaps that of /t too could be thinner.

Try thinning a little the left stroke of /y as it approaches the right one. The joint looks too dark.
  • Adam JagoszAdam Jagosz Posts: 689