Help with Fontforge and Adobe Alternate Character Selection?

Hey everyone. I’m a graphic designer working in the marketing field. One of my current passion projects is designing an industrial sans-serif typeface. I’ve spent the last few months learning Fontforge in my free time so I can implement this project but I’ve hit a stumbling block.

Adobe CC has a feature with .otf files that displays a small menu of alternate characters when the user hovers over a highlighted character in a text box.

See the image linked below for an example of this : https://imgur.com/a/T63Og

My typeface has a number of alternate characters and I cannot figure out how to get this alternate character menu to show up when I use it in Adobe CC. I’ve tried tinkering with Alternate Subs and everything else under the Glyph Info menu. I’ve read through the info on Github and I still can’t figure it out. I’m new to using Fontforge and still learning about how a font-file actually functions so I’m sure there is a simple way to do this and I’m just missing it.

Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Comments

• The glyphs should be in the "All Alternates" (aalt) feature, as well as in whatever other specific features are desired.
  • The glyphs should be in the "All Alternates" (aalt) feature, as well as in whatever other specific features are desired.
    Thanks so much! I'm much closer now than before. This lead me to write a lookup for my glyph substitution and then add the 'aalt' feature. See screenshot linked below:
    https://imgur.com/a/QS40Q

Unfortunately I'm still missing something because after generating the font with these settings I still don't get the little hover menu in CC.

Any idea what I could have overlooked?
  • Thomas PhinneyThomas Phinney Posts: 2,732
    edited December 2017
    I'm afraid I don't remember the FontForge interface quite well enough to know what you might be doing wrong there.