[OTVar] Emotional Type/ Sharing technique for interpolating between angular to cursive masters

edited December 2017 in Technique and Theory

Hi all,

A quick disclaimer: I'm only a beginner. I've been doing type design for just about two years and also very new to OpenType variable font. I just got a chance to attend the type conferences lately and got inspired, so I ended up executed my Master Thesis in OpenType Variable font format.

Emotional Project Summary: The idea is to express emotion in a text message which is in between pure text and emojis usage. It mainly focuses on clarifying the sense of sarcasm or setting a tone of voice in the semi-formal situation by manipulating the default typeface in messaging app.

www.emotionaltype.org

Technical details: It was executed in an OpenType Variable font format which interpolates between angular and cursive (line) form which caused me some errors at first. I explained the problem in detail and how I solved it on Github, also shared the files there. 

https://github.com/boomwooq/emotionaltype 

Maybe it is a minor detail or an amateur "how to", but hopefully, this could be helpful to other beginners out there more or less. Please feel free to share your opinions, comments or feedback.

Note: the font is not yet completed, now only have some Glyphs

Comments

• Sounds very interesting!
    For people who don't want to install a special browser, could you possibly show a simple animation?
  • Looks interesting, and what more could even be possible? Tricky bit is of course, how emotion relates to a certain letterform, which has plenty of variables and is highly personal. Perhaps in the end, the visualisation of the positive and negative axis should lie at the receiver and not the sender? (which gives some issues with current tech)