Playing around with Venetians

Comments

• Thanks ! My friend Nicolas J. had found this middle path before and indicated me the way ;) On the other hand did you experience the same kind of display problem than Samuil above ? and do you have an idea to fix it ?
  • Craig EliasonCraig Eliason Posts: 1,397
    edited November 2017
    I didn’t notice that. Sounds like a hinting issue. Is there any hinting in the font (including autohinting done by the editing software)?
  • Yes perhaps an autohinting problem. I am not very experienced in Hinting. I will see what I can do.
    Otherwise here is another evolution. I noticed that /h,/m,/n and /u curves were more squarish and I understand now that it play an important role into Jenson type ribbon effect (or photographic film like effect).
  • That's what it looks like on my screen. On paper, as expected, it looks normal. Must be some interference somewhere between your font, Acrobat and Windows.
  • Thanks ! Strangely that's a little bit like how LibreOffice displays some fonts (and not only mines). And My old copy of Illustrator 10 on Wine shows something similar (see attachment1) while inkscape keeps it fairly clean (att. 2) and Okular, one my PDF viewers just a bit fat but not out of proportions (att. 3).
    I will investigate on how to obtain better hinting.
  • John SavardJohn Savard Posts: 1,088
    On the issue of making the typeface more regular: that, in my opinion, depends on the use to which it is to be put. If it is intended for display or novelty use, or otherwise for simulating the appearance of old documents, imitating the behavior of type in the period in question is appropriate.

But the Venetian design of a typeface has such merits as to be suitable for the composition of text matter for general-purpose use in the present day. Imitating the limitations of printing processes at the time of its origin in a typeface for that kind of use would only be annoying and distracting, and limit the use of the type.