Is there a way to create a font that uses the two Shift keys differently?

I'm not a professional font creator, so excuse me if I don't know much terminology. I'm hoping to create a font that has three options per letter--regular and two different diacritics--and one Shift key will add a diacritic, the other Shift key will add a different one. Does anybody know of font creating software capable of this? I haven't been able to find any information about a font that works this way.

Comments

• In a word: no. Information about which keys were pressed does not make it down to the font (or even rendering) layer. The only way to achieve this would be custom keyboard layout software.
  • To provide a more detail beyond what Simon said (a bit technical, but useful to understand): 

Digital text has an encoded form, which almost ubiquitously is Unicode. This assigns a numeric encoding for every character of every writing system, and that is how characters are stored in a computer or transmitted between computers. For example, the numeric value 65 (in Unicode hex notation, U+0041) is used as the encoded representation for Latin capital letter "A"; the value 3,627 (U+0E2B) is used to represent Thai letter ha "ห", etc.

Everything that happens when entering, processing, or displaying text is done in terms of the encoded representation inside the computer. When you press a key on a keyboard and see something display on the screen, there is not a direct connection from keyboard to font. Rather there are two sequential interactions: the keypress results in generating the encoded representation stored in the computer, then a separate process takes that encoded representation and displays it on the screen using a font.