Musk, High Contrast Sans Serif

Eko BimantaraEko Bimantara Posts: 10
edited November 2017 in Type Design Critiques
Hi, I'm new in type, previously I'm working for Illustration and logos, and this is my second font family that still in progress. Im looking at Linotype's Optima and try to explore that style. Focus in readability on text, this sample is not yet kern. I need to read a lot about types and its term to describe more about this work, so far I think this is a sans serif with high contrast stems that make it look Classic :)

Best regards

Comments

• Adam JagoszAdam Jagosz Posts: 689
    edited November 2017
    Hi @Eko :)
    Welcome to the forum.
    You might want to attach a pdf sample of your work so people can zoom in and out to see the details.

If I recall correctly, this is a real names forum unless your nickname identifies unambiguously who you are (as in: foundry name).

As to the design itself, I like the general idea of /g. The terminals on the /S bring to mind Armenian type, or maybe its rendition in Noto. The corresponding terminal on /G needs refinement. The top bar on /E should be shorter than the bottom bar, in most cases.

I'll leave the real critic to the pros ;D
  • That bold seems fairly light by today’s standards. 
  • The stroke weight seems to vary by three groups, from too heavy to too light: Diagonals, verticals, round glyphs. So V looks too dark compared to H, but O looks to light compared to H. This is equally visible in the lowercase, and in the text at small size you can notice it as the stems being clearly darker.