Opentype features from variable axes?

Richard RutterRichard Rutter Posts: 9
edited November 2017 in Font Technology
Further to Lorp's tweet in which he says "@adamtwarexplains why OpenType features cannot trigger axis position changes" I have a question, which I think is answered therein, but I'd like clarification.

Take the example of small caps. We all know that small caps glyphs can be accessed in a font as an OpenType feature, by way of the `smcp` table. I've also seen an example of small caps built using an axis (Noboto Flex). Could the small caps be 'built' using an axis and accessed as an OpenType feature?

As a web designer, I ask because it feels to me that there would be a file size saving, especially if the technique is extended to other alternates such as numerals. But also OpenType features is the right way to access these glyphs, particularly on the web where you might need to fall back to system fonts if a webfont doesn't load for example.

Comments

• It's currently not possible. Also: selecting a different instance constitutes a font change, so kerning between variable small caps and the unmodified glyphs wouldn't work. The variable font model could be extended to allow feature interaction between different v instances, but it would be quite complicated. 
  • Belleve InvisBelleve Invis Posts: 269
    edited October 2017
    I was always wondering that, the quantification of the variation vector does not happen on the font level, but at the glyph level, so that a glyph is now a function which takes a variation vector, and produces some outlines. You can "call" any glyph with any VV, and the default "parameters" are in the CMAP level.

More precisely, the current OTVar spec as a type definition in Idris:
    -- Variation vector type with n axes
    -- It is a dependent type
    VV : Nat -> Type
    VV n = Vect n Real

-- A static font
    record StaticFont where
        glyf : GID -> Outline
        cmap : Unicode -> GID