Weapon of choice

Hi everyone

I would like to know what do you use to design type on your computer?
Do you you use a regular mouse or any other, like a gamer mouse?
Do you prefer to use a tablet and a pen?
Let me know!
I'm currently looking for a substitute to my apple mouse since working on it for hours has given me a really bad tendonitis.

Comments

• Robin, you are on a roll ;-)
  • I just use a mouse.
  • I've used the same lowly Logitech MX300 for about twelve years.

But my favorite remains the Amiga's "pregnant badger" model from the '90s:

• I have been using the recent Apple mouse ("Magic Mouse") for quite a few years now without any issues. When I first got it, I got pains in my hand. I went back to the "Mighty Mouse" for a while, which I'd been using in some form since around 2000. But I got tired of the tiny little trackball needing to be cleaned and eventually switched back to the newer one. Except, on the second try, I didn't get any pain from it. Not sure what the difference was.

Back in the nineties, I was getting pain in my arm from using a mouse (the old teardrop shaped Apple mouse). After trying some different things, I figured out that the problem was the height of my chair relative to desk surface. Even earlier I discovered that repetitious mouse dragging was a sure path to pain.

I also get numb fingers when using a Wacom stylus. Interestingly, not with the Apple Pencil on an iPad.
  • Mark Simonson said:
    I figured out that the problem was the height of my chair relative to desk surface.
    I think that's often the main problem. I once had mouse-use pain but then realized it was because my forearm was resting against the edge of the desk.
  • Logitech for life! These things last at least 10 years of heavy usage.
  • In the iMac I use a tiny Microsoft mouse (I like its wheel better than the one from Logitec (to loud)). On the laptop I love the trackpad. It can be very precise and the hand are much closer to the keyboard.