Opentype features I wish to use

If this request is off limits - please delete it or let me know how to do so myself.

I'm an amateur collector and user of fonts and would like to make some use of opentype features.

I have both free and purchased fonts. Some of each have opentype features that I cannot make use of in Scribus, at least not in the versions of Scribus I have, nor use them in dumber applications. I'm using Linux, so Scribus is pretty much it for applications with some typographic control. I cannot see moving to macs or Windows and Adobe for this purpose.

I would like to be able to make separate font files with characters like small caps and OSFs substituted in. All this is solely for my own use. Nothing I make will be distributed or sold.

Would I be able to do so through a program like FontForge? And being a total amateur, where would I look for a guide on such jobs? At a quick glance, opentype features don't look simple to me. If it is all just too complex, it's not a big deal, but if there is a relatively simple path, that would be great.

Comments

• It's certainly possible with FontForge as well as pretty much any other font editor. The real question is does the respective font licenses permit you to do this? I'd check on that first.
  • Thanks! It may end up that I can only do this with some open license free fonts. I'll check with the makers of paid fonts.
  • I haven't tried this myself but maybe Font Squirrel Webfont Generator's OpenType flattening feature could be used to convert to a flattened TTF for desktop use. fontsquirrel.com/tools/webfont-generator
  • Thanks!!!!!
  • In you are simply looking to use the OpenType features in fonts that you already have, try LibreOffice Writer 5.3 or higher. It supports virtually all OpenType features, and is free and available for Linux.