What’s the best on Windows in 2017?

Alex VisiAlex Visi Posts: 185
edited July 2017 in Type Design Software
I’m a newbie in font design, so my question is probably stupid.
Now I draw glyphs in FontLab VI (drawing tools are quite awesome there), and then I have to export it to FL 5 and do the rest there. Because of bugs in FL VI, the workflow is a nightmare, and it takes way too long to fix everything, especially if I want to interpolate a few weights. I believe, FL will be an amazing tool when it’ll be ready, but are there any alternatives to it on Windows at the moment?

Comments

• Dave CrosslandDave Crossland Posts: 1,389
    FontForge, TruFont, and FontCreator
  • Don't rely on unreleased software for workflow. I use FL5. If Glyphs ever goes Windows I'll check it out (although I'm the loyal type).
  • If Glyphs ever goes Windows I'll check it out...

That pretty much sums it up for me. I am almost to the point of picking up a used Macbook just to buy Glyphs. Cannot really spend the money at the moment, but I am setting some aside for just this exploration.

I do use HL's FontCreator for my main work (and a couple others). And it works great...but I also wanna see if that grass really is greener.

• Simon CozensSimon Cozens Posts: 723
    I can't speak for Georg or the Glyphs team, but it would be an incredible undertaking for Glyphs to ever "go Windows". It would basically require a ground-up rewrite.
  • That's what they've said too. I feel like a dinosaur coming from the age of code portability... BTW Fontstand has a Windows version coming. How are they doing it? I guess it's much simpler software. Plus the motivation is very different, since font creators are much more Apple-centric than font purchasers.
  • Ofir ShavitOfir Shavit Posts: 396
    You can give Fontark a try. It has a super simple and flexible parametric drawing mechanism, plus a cross glyphs control system which makes about 70%-90% of the font design process a joy.