Astar - An elegant, readable sans-serif (looking for critiques)

edited July 2017 in Type Design Critiques
Hello TypeDrawers,

I'm Lorenzo Miglietta, 23-year-old Graphic designer, blogger and novice type designer. I am working on my first typeface: Astar.

Before starting designing these letter i'm going to show you, I spent months and months studying the old great type designers like Edward Johnston, Eric Gill and Jenson. 

Astar is partially inspired by the works of those guys.

The idea is to design an high-readable, functional and extremely elegant type family.

The starting point is this: the Astar Bold (I'm already working on the regular and bold italic - a true italic - versions).

Being a self-taught on type design, I would love to hear advice from these wonderful community.

Any feedback, any critique (even a fierce one) would be extremely appreciated.

Here some images:

Thank you much for your precious time,
Lorenzo :) 

Comments

• Well, there's a lot to mention, here:

1. Drop the math. It looks like you're going for rational solutions to your design, meaning, too stuck in a grid, reusing modules randomly. Forget geometry - and I mean it. Go for whatever pleases your eye the most. Think of it like clay: start crude and refine, refine, refine; don't look for the perfect solution before trying to shape the form.

2. Modulation looks weird. Not that this is a bad thing per se, but here it looks somewhat lost, since angles keep changing violentely.

3. Pay attention to your terminals and joints, they don't relate well across glyphs.

4. Widths have a lot of funk, letters seem disproportional across the map. Again, it seems like you're trying to find a rational solution to a sensibility problem.

5. Optical corrections seem a bit off. Compensation for curves, widths, weight and so on need care.