Mapping a Unicode range to another

Hi everyone,

I am not a font professional -- using an existing font and trying to map a Unicode range to another (Syriac font, the Hebrew Unicode points mapped to Syriac glyphs).

In FontForge, for each Hebrew alphabet Unicode point, I add an "Alternate Unicode Encoding" in Glyph Info > Unicode and the previously empty Unicode points now display the correct glyphs.

The problem is, the Substitutions are not applied, i.e. ligatures between adjacent glyphs etc. They are correctly applied when the original Unicode points of the glyphs are entered, but not the new "alternate encoding" (Hebrew) Unicode points.

Am I doing something wrong? I thought these Substitutions depended on glyphs, not Unicode points, so not sure why it doesn't work.

Thanks.

Benjamin

Comments

• John HudsonJohn Hudson Posts: 2,955
    To confirm I understand, you are mapping Syriac glyphs to Hebrew Unicode codepoints in the font cmap table? I can guess why you might be doing this, but it isn't really a good idea.

The first step of OpenType Layout processing is for software to itemise runs of text according to Unicode script property of the characters, and then to pass the itemised runs to the appropriate shaping engine. So when you have a sequence of Hebrew Unicode characters, these are going to be identified as Hebrew by the software, and passed to the Hebrew shaping engine. This means that any OpenType GSUB and GPOS lookups you want to be applied to the glyphs mapped from those characters a) need to be associated with the <hebr> script tag, and b) need to be associated with layout features that are processed by the Hebrew shaping engine.