Sporty all-caps display face

Jim StaffordJim Stafford Posts: 6
edited June 2017 in Type Design Critiques
I'm attempting to design a full face, extrapolating from a logo design (of mine). Very early stages and I'd love (and appreciate) any feedback or direction that anyone cared to levy. First draft of A-Z, plus a couple of numerals.

Original logo was for a cycling brand (can't post yet as we're yet to launch), but the vibe is sporty/tech.

I'm a graphic designer of 15+ years, but this is my first attempt at a full face.

Comments

• Simon CozensSimon Cozens Posts: 723
    edited June 2017
    Explain the system to me. Why does A-R, T & Z have an on-stroke but not S & U-Y? If B does, why doesn't 5? If L does, why doesn't U?
  • Jim StaffordJim Stafford Posts: 6
    edited June 2017
    A good question, and not one I have an answer to.

All the characters in the original logotype had them; it added some interest, played into the sport/speed thing, and is worked well (enough) with those six characters.

Then, to outline my train of thought, as I sketched out the other characters, I guess I, A ) Wanted some variation, B ) Have a personal aversion to faces that rely too heavily on a quirk, especially when it's forced into characters 'against their will' (The 'S' would be a definite case in my eyes). Which led to this point.

I've tried alts for each of the characters where I've missed it off – I definitely feel it has more coherence (though it throws up a few different problems).

• Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    edited June 2017
    I really like the consistency overall, it's hard to pull off sometimes with these speciality designs. Well done! And the /S is much nicer in a square shape to me.

I can see this being used for titling in an action or comic book movie. Do you have a specific goal / use case in mind for it? Eg. Releasing to the public or just using it in house for your cycling client?