P4 grotesque - first typeface

Hi everyone! First of all I want to thank you because this forum has been really helpful for me to find a method to the critique of a typeface, and gave me the motivation needed to start design this font.

I'm a graphic designer/illustrator from Italy with a strong passion for typedesign. I work in branding field as a freelance
since 2014 and this is my first type project. For now named: P4.

I started design P4 thinking about a versatile neo-grotesque with a humanist influence, with a lowercase height very tall. Taking for reference Univers, Akzidenz, FF Strada and the works of Neubau Berlin.
I'm currently working at spacing and I don't started kerning yet.
During the process (three months) glyphs changed a lot from the primary pencil sketch that i probably lost the point, maybe
this crossover between style it just don't works or maybe I just should change drastically some letters to find a way to a more consistency look.

Despite I see a lot of mistake in proportions, weight and style I personally would not trash it completely.

I have a LOT of questions about it, but I would like to get a professional critique from you, that i'm sure it will be more helpful as always.

What's your thoughts?

Thank You
p4.pdf 86.3K

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    This is a typical beginners grotesque. It was a nice first project but now you should move on. Think of this like the designs you did in your first year of design classes. Yes you could have spent years hammering away to forge a thing of beauty. But you got a lot more out of just moving on to different projects. Make it something completely different, like a fat face italic.
  • Thank you James Puckett for your precious reflection and advice!

• Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    edited April 2017