Kaffeebohne Display

Hello everyone, 

My name is Dennys Hess. I'm a swiss digital interface designer currently based in Hong Kong. My job is it to create nice websites, apps etc. and I have a huge passion for typography. However, until now I was just using fonts to add personality, brand etc to my projects and always appreciated the craft behind it. 

I strongly believe that if you want to understand something you have to create it. This is why I want to make my own font and hopefully struggle as much as I can to see what makes great fonts great (not just in theory) and hope this insight will help me to pick fonts in a more accurate way and understand the nature of the design choices made by the type designer. 

In no means I'm a type designer, I'm a designer trying to make a font, used in large sizes. This is an initial draft and I would love to get some insights from designers with loads of experience in this field. 

Looking very much forward to some insights from you. 

Thank you very much!
Dennys

Comments

• Think about having the counters (interior white spaces) relate more. It's weird that /b/'s counter is wider than /o/'s, for example, or that /c/ is welcoming in a bunch of white space when other letters are shutting it out. 
    Modulation also needs more consistency. Your diagonal letters won't fit in if they lack the thins that all the other letters have. 
  • there are some serious flaws e.g. in a, e, c, k, s, v, w, y, x, z, they just won’t work that way. My recommendation: to study thoroughly some classical typeface first, (Bodoni, Didones), and then turn back to your draft.
  • edited February 2017
    You have two choices: follow the lead of mainstreamers and end up with something boring that "works", or think freely while maintaining self-doubt and end up with something some people will hate and some people will love.

In either case you do have a lot of work to do, but first get your heart straight before it's too late.

Dieu vomit les tièdes.