First font license

Hello there. I've been doing an extensive research (maybe I'm not using the right terms), but I'm trying to find out the steps to get my font to license; by that I mean: what do I have to do to sell a font I'm designing, I will try to sell them by myself to some graphic designers, so there will be no font service to help me out with this.

I'm not really that greedy about this font because it's a display font and it has a really specific use, so it's not the new helvetica or futura, and so I', not sure if I have to copyright it first or what to do.

I'm thinking, well maybe you just grab a license template depending on the use of the font (EULA, SIL Open font license, etc) and change the key words, but I'm pretty sure it's not that simple. I'm also not planning to be so strict about redistributing the font or installing it in different devices.

I would appreciate very much any help you could provide on this subject, I've been designing type for almost 2 years, but just for myself, now I want to start getting them out. If it's got something to do (because of the legal stuff), I'm from Mexico.

Comments

• It pretty much is that simple. Except that you should start with a license that the owner doesn't mind you copying, and preferably one that is at least broadly similar to your needs. So if you are making a retail font, an open source license is not much help as a starting point.

Copyright is inherent in authorship. For the US, you might want to register the copyright, but you can do that in parallel with getting the font out there.
  • Thank you so much @Thomas Phinney. This is what I needed to know. I've also seen some fonts that come with a license-like file simply with the rules of use, I should check on that too. Now I'm on to find a license that could work for my case, thanks again!
  • MyFonts offers a range of licenses to use, if you use them as a distributor.