Neoletters - a monospaced, hand-drawn bitmap font

I first started making this font because I wanted a font that:
- Was monospace, with correct cjk widths for all characters as per Unicode.
- Was bitmap, or pixeled, in other words, did not result in purple edges on LCD monitors because of cleartype.
- Had a high unicode range, with support of various scripts, symbols, etc.
- Was geometric with simple letter forms devoid of ornament.
I started by using "fontstruct.com", and later figured out how to use fontforge, once I exceeded that site's limitations on size. From time to time I've added things, and lately I've been working on adding more Kanji to the font's repertoire.
The result is this:
http://www.orenwatson.be/fontdemo.htm

I'm still unsure of many of the letter forms however, as many of the languages I have very little knowledge of besides comparing letter forms in various other fonts and handwritten examples. If any person can see anything wrong in this, please point it out.

Comments

• Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    edited September 2016
    To be honest - I had to blow it up in my browser to 200% to read it properly. I wear glasses and my eyesight is not great, but at 16px I just found the overall rhythm too bouncy (maybe it's the lowercase /l/ - it feels like it's interrupting the flow of reading). Also the weight feels so heavy that the letters merge into blobby looking shapes. 

It is good that you have such a massive set of characters designed though... I would focus your attention the most on the latin ones and get them looking 100% perfect.
  • That's quite the coverage. I can read it but it's all spaced too tightly. A pixel added to the left and right sidebearings of all glyphs would make this a lot easier to read.
  • Chris DChris D Posts: 76
    edited September 2016