Gatunesk

Hello. I'm a newbie typography enthusiast and this is my first attempt at creating a font.
This typography was designed initially as academic work, to compose a fashion catalog made with Amazonian materials. It does not have a good read on screen and be a little thinner is better in negative. Honestly I have no idea what is the level of use of this work. but any critique or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Comments

• Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I think what you're attempting can't be developed on a computer. At least not by building it up from vectors and copying/pasting parts. This unstructured look will work when you develop it as a hand lettering style. As you keep using it, it'll evolve into something that feels natural and then you can build a typeface based on that.
  • Ofir ShavitOfir Shavit Posts: 396
    I would take Ray's advise on that, he's a master of fun type.

But I want to say that there are quite a lot of features in your type I like very much...
    I think the /f is very expressive, in a good manner. The /b/p/d as well.
    As for the rest of the wavy vertical lines, having too much of it doesn't work well, I think you should either straighten them up or try waving them in another manner/direction. If you'll look at an Amazonian forest you will see that the branches don't wave in the same direction ;)
    The /e is adorable, and the /a is cool too. The /ff /fi /if ligatures are great (the /fl less).
    The upper-case set is less good than the lower case and it is condensed while the lowercase are at normal width and I think it doesn't match well.
    The /g is foreign and the /N is disturbing me a bit.
    You have a lot of work here on spacing, balancing letter width, consistency of stroke width and many other things I didn't mention.