Fontspring

I've been invited to join Fontspring as a foundry. The conditions sound good, but I'm not good with license questions and the likes.
  1. Can you recommend joining Fontspring? Are there any strings attached?
  2. Specifically, are the conditions compatible with also being on MyFonts? I know I'm not allowed to sell cheaper than on MyFonts; I guess I should be fine if I use the same pricing?
  3. Fontspring seems to care about simple licenses in particular. Could I keep the wording of the standard MyFonts license that I've been using, or would I have to change it? Is there a standard Fontspring license wording I would have to adopt instead? Would they differ significantly?
Cheers

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    I’ve been with Fontspring since they launched. Ethan and his crew are great people and I’ve never had a problem.

Unless you negotiated a weird deal your MyFonts contract should allow you to sell elsewhere.

Fontspring has never complained about my EULA, although mine is pretty simple.
  • Ethan and his crew are great people and I’ve never had a problem.
    That's also my experience via Font Squirrel.

I was just worried about overlooking possible legal complications. But I'm sure they have lots of foundries that are also on MyFonts, so I guess they must know what they're doing.
  • They're solid, used same EULA as used for other vendors including MyFonts, although to clarify it's not the stock MyFonts EULA, it is custom.
  • Ben BlomBen Blom Posts: 250

In Fontspring’s latest version(s) of their agreement with foundries, they altered the provision for future changes of this agreement.

• Old version: “This Agreement may be modified, changed or amended only in writing signed by an authorized representative of both parties”.