FontForge Curves Rendering

Hello guys! :smile:
I am new to the type design; for about 7 months now I've been using FontForge for the function at its affordability.

However, I was always bugged with its curves rendering. 
Here below, I attached a picture comparing the example n rendered in both FF and Glyphs.

As you can see, FF renders the right side of counters almost as a square, while Glyphs' render is overall much cleaner and truthful to the actual shape (or is it?)...

Actually, I'm not missing many functions in FF (yet) and I only installed a Glyphs trial to try that rendering.
It seems the problem is FF, everywhere else it renders nicely so my main question is:
Have some of you also ran into this issue? Is there a solution within FF?

I drew this letter quickly for the example and I may see a bit of unbalance in that critical part; also in big scale. 
But in practice the FF rendering always forces me to ease the curvatures that lead to very circular shapes I don't want.

Also, my second guess is—isn't Glyphs artificially beautifying the render and isn't FF actually telling me in this weird way there's something wrong with my curves? (as it probably is in this example as mentioned in previous sentence)

Thank you guys for any input on this :smile:

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    The solution is to use a 5k iMac with software that supports it. 
  • Mark SimonsonMark Simonson Posts: 1,652
    It probably has to do with the fact that Glyphs uses native Quartz rendering and Fontforge runs in X11, which is an older UNIX-based windowing system. The routines they use to draw stuff on the screen are completely different.