Microsoft Font Validator lives!

124»

Comments

• Dave CrosslandDave Crossland Posts: 1,389
    edited January 2016

Oh, there are some reports that the first time a fontconfig based application is run, it needs to build the font cache, so if you have never had any other fontconfig based applications on your system (basically any Unix-like GUI application), the first time the GUI launches may take a while. I have no first hand experience on that...
    In FontForge, I used cocoadialog to show a progress bar during that wait. 

https://mstratman.github.io/cocoadialog/

https://github.com/fontforge/fontforge/blob/master/osx/FontForge.app/Contents/MacOS/fcprogress.pl

https://github.com/fontforge/fontforge/blob/master/osx/FontForge.app/Contents/MacOS/FontForge#L116-L117

When I ran it, it just opened the script in text edit:

But I could solve this with right click, open with, Terminal. 

It took about a minute to actually open, in which time I just saw the Terminal saying nothing. 

Rather than CocoaDialog, you could just echo something to the terminal to say "FontConfig Progressing, please wait" :) 

I suggest the default report output location be ~/Desktop, if that's possible. 

• Oh, there are some reports that the first time a fontconfig based application is run, it needs to build the font cache, so if you have never had any other fontconfig based applications on your system (basically any Unix-like GUI application), the first time the GUI launches may take a while. I have no first hand experience on that...
    In FontForge, I used cocoadialog to show a progress bar during that wait. 

It took about a minute to actually open, in which time I just saw the Terminal saying nothing. 

Rather than CocoaDialog, you could just echo something to the terminal to say "FontConfig Progressing, please wait" :) 

I suggest the default report output location be ~/Desktop, if that's possible.