need some critics for my first font

Serkan UlukutSerkan Ulukut Posts: 6
edited February 2016 in Type Design Critiques
Hey there, hello everyone. I'm a graphic designer for almost 10 years and i'm just starting to realize that font design may be my cup of tea as i enjoy it too much and keep coming with the new ideas. When i say new of course i may not know if someone else somewhere else could have executed similar ideas. Here is my font that i send to myfonts and rejected.

They said nothing about the rejection and i really wonder what may have been wrong with this font. Any ideas? If you need more of examples or need to see in a different way i'd love to share. İ already made this as a ttf font file and all the kernings. Total 170 glyps.
I will also have more questions about how to licence this font and how to make a font universally accepted. Thanks in advance.

Comments

• This should be in the Type Design Critiques category, but until it’s moved there, let’s start at the beginning.

Have you studied any typefaces before starting this? There are quite a few sites out there that can give you a quick overview of the sort of things you need to learn about. Briem’s site comes to mind.

Your sample doesn’t show the character set very well, but it does reveal why MyFonts may have chosen not to publish this. Your letters are sloppy and look like a quick magic marker job. Is this intentional? What are you trying to achieve here?

It’s up to you to make this work and to convince others of what you intend to do. Right now, it’s a mess.
  • Serkan UlukutSerkan Ulukut Posts: 6
    edited February 2016
    Thank you for your comment Rob. Well you are right about my sample. Maybe I should renew this.
    To say the truth i thought i have studied enough before starting this. For the set i go for unicode ucs-2. But i didn't make a chart for all the glyps.