Student Critique - Display Face

Scott BiersackScott Biersack Posts: 76
edited November 2015 in Type Design Critiques
Hello everyone!

Very excited to be a part of this forum. I'm currently a student within the Type @ Cooper program - learning new things about the type design world each and everyday.

We are in the process of developing our own display typefaces based on a humanistic script model.  Our type derived from our own hands as we began writing each letterform with various tools, then redrawing our calligraphy within Robofont.

In my case, I utilized a Copic Wide marker. I tried to keep things relatively condensed while hopefully still achieving the humanistic/calligraphic feel. 

I have yet to name this face and I have lots more work to do (as you can see in the attached various punctuation figures are missing). With that said, I know there are many spacing/kerning issues as well - just wanted to get the initial thoughts/feedback from established professionals like yourselves. I'd like to make this typeface the best it can be before my review!

Thanks a bunch for taking the time to view my work! 
-Scott

Comments

• Hi Scott, 
    Why did you decide to have the capital M and N be drawn just like the lower case?
    Seems like an odd choice, given the other capitals...
  • Hey @Alvaro Franca 

Never thought about it, to be honest! I just drew what form came to mind first. Now that you mention it, I probably could draw other constructions of those letters to see how they fit with the family.
  • I like this. It's the type of lettering that often looks hopelessly old fashioned to me, but there's something fresh about your take on it.
    /P/ looks very wimpy to me. Top counters of /B/ and /R/ could also be bigger.
    /D/ looks wide and /Z/ narrow.
    Is there something that could be done to make the horizontal terminals look more finished in /E/F/L/T/?
    /v/w/ look forward sloped.