Itis - Serif Typeface (sorry for the name)

Evie S.Evie S. Posts: 74
edited August 2015 in Type Design Critiques
I am a young font designer. I need some help designing my first publishable font, Itis. (I have experimented far more.) It is mainly boring and economical, but it has some quirks. Please be as constructive and critical as you can, as this is a learning experiment. I'm not working out the spacing yet, as I will likely change glyphs. I mainly need help making the /a lighter and the /c darker. Which /r and /y do you like? And I'm going to change the /w, too. (Sorry for the painful sample and WIP letters — I have yet to have a good one.)

Comments

• Welcome to the forums, Evan!

I don't think you can neglect spacing at this point. The sidebearings are part of the glyph, and you can't polish the latter if you don't yet know the former. Start with /nnnnn and /ooooo and then make the others look right when placed between them (/nnxnn, /ooxoo). It's hard to judge your sample without proper spacing.

Otherwise, I think you'll have to do some more work on consistency. Your round stems look lighter than the vertical ones, and the thins in /b are lighter than the ones in /u, for instance. In particular, the lower right joint of /u comes out very dark.

There's also stylistic consistency to consider. The detailing of several letters don't seem to agree much with each other. Most serifs are very mechanical and angular, but /a is all curves, including the outstroke, and /r's lack of a terminal feels strange amongst all the serifs and ball terminals.

The ball terminals strike me as a bit too light for their job. The /f and /t look like they should fall over. Overshoots seem on the small side in general.