Easy way to make a microsite for a webfont?

I will shortly need to market a type family of mine outside of MyFonts. I figured a microsite showcasing the fonts and giving background information would be in order. Unfortunately, I have no experience whatsoever with HTML.

What's the easiest way to make a website that uses webfonts? I seem to remember that iWeb is problematic in that respect. I like WordPress for ease of use, but I believe one has to be a premium user to change a theme's font settings, and I'm somewhat reluctant to pay up for that before I know it will work. I could always post a bunch of PNGs on Bēhance, but that's a pretty noisy website, and it would be bitmap posters only.

Do you think writing a microsite in HTML from scratch might be worth considering anyway...?

Comments

• James PuckettJames Puckett Posts: 1,969
    Check out Pagelines DMS for Wordpress. Pagelines makes stuff that's worth the money.
  • Wow, Pagelines looks impressive! Maybe even a bit too impressive — I was only going to have a few pages with text and posters, nothing that fancy... though I'm envious of those parallax backdrops.

Does WordPress with the Customize option already allow for the use of webfonts, or would that require plugins and programming ?
  • Hmmm, the default WordPress Customize option only allows to pick from a limited selection of fonts, so that's not good enough. I'd need a plugin.

On the other hand, apparently Bēhance has just changed its layout to allow for much wider images than before. This should enhance the signal-to-noise ratio of such a page and allow for high-def demonstration of a display font. That's probably good enough, given that it's a free font family.
  • Ray LarabieRay Larabie Posts: 1,376
    I've never had much luck with WordPress custom font plugin-ins but there's one called "Use Any Font" that works, but you don't have control over the conversion. But you can try one conversion for free.