Display face with no curves

Hi folks: Newbie here, hoping to get a little feedback on my first typeface.

Just to briefly introduce myself: I'm a graphic designer (my day job is in publication design) who's always been interested in type design, but I'm only now getting serious about it. I've been drawing letters most of my life and do some lettering here and there, so I'm no stranger to constructing characters and words — but I'm basically teaching myself the technical side of how to make typefaces, through trial and error and a lot of reading. I'm at a point where I could use some outside eyes on what I'm up to!

Anyway, the basic idea with this was a typeface with no curves, but in no way college-y or sports-y — so it's got some contrast and some asymmetry. Definitely a display face. I'm pretty happy with where it's going.

My current struggles are:
1) starting to second-guess myself on the spacing, so if there's anything that jumps out as weird, that'd be good to know (see PDF)
2) trying to decide between a more-pointy and a less-pointy version of the "round" characters. (I might include both as stylistic alternates, but not sure if the default should be more quirky or less.)

Thanks!

Comments

• joeclarkjoeclark Posts: 122
    Cf. Klang; ITC Machine; London Olympics typeface (note the o).
  • Machine is a perfect example of what I was trying to stay away from: that's what I mean by "college-y/sports-y"... all based on symmetrical octagons. My thought was, can I do something with all straight lines that is not that?

Always thought it a little weird that the London typeface's O was a perfect circle and the only round character. A reference to the Olympic rings?

• Ofir ShavitOfir Shavit Posts: 396
    edited March 2015
    Hi, and welcome.

I think your doing a good job avoiding the college-y/sports-y flavors, and your typeface is interesting.

Not such an expert myself but here are few things I've noticed...